Electric Cooperatives are unique because they're owned by the members they serve, governed by a board of director-members and guided by a set of seven key principles.  This helps provide at-cost service and keeps member' best interests at heart.

Intercounty members own their cooperative system, including; AECI, the cooperative's power supplier and Sho-Me Power Electric Cooperative, the transmission cooperative.

Every member has an equal vote on all directors, amendments and bylaws that are put before the membership at the annual membership meeting.

Members are allocated capital credits each year the revenues of IECA exceed expenses.  the amount is based on individual electricity purchases in relation to the total electricity purchased by all members during the fiscal year.